Our internal process is something like this:
* All content changes must be done on dev first before we we can take it up to production
* The content update are done by a content editing team and their access is restricted, so they cannot access Staging, but need the option to sync pages.
For some reason I cannot remove the "archived" step, as Kentico system keeps saying I need this step at least once somewhere in my workflow.
While the steps may not make sense to some, it's a workflow needed to match up with our internal processes.
Hope this helps.