Design and CSS styles
Version 7.x > Design and CSS styles > Add new menu group View modes: 
huey - 5/13/2013 12:15:49 PM

Add new menu group
I'm very new to Kentico.
I would like to add a menu that will list sub-pages in the left hand side of the page.
What is the best way to do this?
I thought I could add a new menu group. I've read where you can set up some kind of indicator, and then put that in the WHERE condition in the tree menu web part, but I don't know where to add it.
Any advice is appreciated thanks!

Kentico Legend
Kentico Legend
Brenden Kehren - 5/13/2013 2:02:32 PM

RE:Add new menu group
Assume you have your main navigation (Home, About, Contact, etc). Under About you have the following page structure.

-About
--Vision
--Mission
--Staff
--Careers

On the About page, add a Repeater (or CSSListMenu your choice).

Leave the Path empty (by default it will pick everything below that node).

Set the Document type to be Page (menu item).

Select a transformation something like a <li> or a <div> tag.

And you should be set. This will display all the menu items below the About page.

kentico_sandroj - 5/13/2013 9:48:25 PM

Hi,

Frogeyes solution should work the way he described but please let us know if you need any additional details or help setting this up. Also, if you would like a more advanced example for a full navigation, this article would be a good read.

Regards,
Sandro

huey - 5/14/2013 9:19:17 AM

Thanks for the responses.

I'm trying to get Froggeyes solution to work but I'm not quite there. If it works then it would be ideal because I have 3 different sections that need navigation on the left hand side. I don't want to have to have a template for each section, which is where I am now.

I think I'm getting stuck at the Transformation part. I added <li> to Item Separator but didn't get the results I expected. Here is what I got.

Document name: Who We Are
Teaser image:
Menu group:
Document name: Test1
Teaser image:
Menu group: