Portal Engine Questions on portal engine and web parts.
Version 7.x > Portal Engine > Creating a menu with boostrap markup View modes: 
daniel.munday@wellstudio.co.uk - 8/23/2013 6:00:02 AM

Creating a menu with boostrap markup
Hi,

I'm completely new to Kentico and I'm trying to build a menu with bootstrap markup through the portal engine. There will be nested menus with the class dropdown, so -
<ul class="nav navbar-nav">
<li><a href="#">Other link</a></li>
<li class="dropdown">
<a href="#" class="dropdown-toggle" data-toggle="dropdown">Parent cat</a>
<ul class="dropdown-menu">
<li><a href="#">Sub 1</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Sub 2</a></li>
</ul>
</li>
</ul>

My question is - is there any way to do this through the default menu web parts in the portal?
I'm trying to find a way to add that dropdown class at least. It seems like 'CSS list menu' almost gets there, but not quite.

There are three ways that I can think of doing it -
1. Get a web part to do it for me - seems unlikely
2. Combine web parts together (maybe three cat menus one after the other or something?)
3. Write my own code for it outside of the portal engine.

Does anyone have any advice?

Thanks,

Dan

Kentico Legend
Kentico Legend
Brenden Kehren - 8/23/2013 11:12:15 AM

RE:Creating a menu with boostrap markup
The Hierarchial Viewer will meet your needs. You could also use nested repeaters although there is are performance issues with nesting them. Better to use the Heirarchial Viewer as it's built for this nesting purpose. I've got a good conversation here about it and setting up a navigation structure.

DanM - 8/23/2013 12:14:39 PM

Thanks for the advice.
I'll try it out and get back to you about whether it worked.
I reckon there will be a lot more requests like this in future as people start to integrate responsive frameworks into Kentico.

Kentico Legend
Kentico Legend
Brenden Kehren - 8/23/2013 1:47:23 PM