You can set up the system to merge contacts automatically. This helps you save time by merging contacts that have clear ties to the same person. Automatic merging can occur when new contacts are created or when the data of existing contacts is updated.
The system always merges contacts that are associated with the same user account.
To configure additional types of automatic merging, adjust the following settings in Site Manager -> Settings -> On-line marketing -> Contact management -> Global data & merging:
•Merge contacts for identical E-commerce customers - if enabled, the system automatically merges contacts that are associated with the same e-commerce customer.
•Merge contacts for identical Newsletter subscribers - if enabled, contacts associated with the same newsletter subscriber will be merged automatically.
•Merge contacts with identical e-mail addresses - if enabled, the system automatically merges contacts that are associated with the same newsletter subscriber.
•When a visitor has more contacts, use - determines which contact the system selects as the parent when automatically merging:
•Last logged contact - the contacts with the most recently logged activity
•Most active contact - the contact with the highest number of logged activities
•Create a new contact - the system creates a new contact as the parent a merges all matching contacts into it
Automatic merge collisions
When attribute collisions occur during automatic merges, the system uses the values of the parent contact. If a collision is detected between the attributes of child contacts and the parent contact does not contain a value in the given field, the priority of the values is undetermined (the system uses the values of the first contact loaded from the database).
Setting up automatic contact merging