On this tab, you can see all versions of the selected document.
You can perform the following actions with the versions:
• View - displays an overview of the document's content with the possibility of side-by-side comparison of versions.
• Rollback - rolls back any changes made since the particular version of the document.
• Delete - deletes the old version.
After clicking the icon in the header of the Actions column, a context menu is displayed, offering options for export of listed data to various types of files.
You can also use the Clear history button to clear all versions except the latest one. For the action to be available, you must have Destroy permission for this document.
The length of the version history can be configured in Site Manager -> Settings -> Content -> Content management -> Version history length.
Every document version is identified by a version number. By default, the system assigns numbers to versions automatically according to the following rules:
•When you create a document, it gets version number 0.1.
•When you save a document, a minor version is created and the number after the period increases. Example: 0.2, 0.3, etc.
•When you publish a document, the latest minor version gets promoted to a major version. The number before the period increases and the number after the period resets to zero. Example: 1.0, 2.0, etc.
If you use content locking, you can disable the automatic numbering in Settings -> Content -> Content management, by turning off the Use automatic version numbering setting.
When using content locking, the following buttons are also available:
•Check out - checks out the document for editing. If you check out the document, only you will be able to make changes to it.
•Check in - unlocks the document and allows others to check it out to make their own changes.
•Undo check-out - discards the changes you made since you last checked out the document.
When checking in a document, you can provide the following additional information that will be shown with the document version you created:
•Version number - any string of characters that will replace the automatic version number.
•Comment - your remarks about the version you created.