Versioning without workflow is a part of workflows and as I mentioned, the workflow is not supported for this web part. Thus I do not recommend to use versioning and this web part together. In fact, it saves the shared content to the published versions of root document. So for example if you roll back the version of root, it will also roll back the shared content on all documents. If you check out and edit the root, then another document and its shared content, then publish the document, and then check in and publish the root, it can wipe the changes of shared content out. If you need any details how it works (you can re-write it as you need), please write me an e-mail (the address is mentioned in the Instructions).