Kentico CMS 7.0 Developer's Guide



Previous topic Next topic Mail us feedback on this topic!  


Previous topic Next topic JavaScript is required for the print function Mail us feedback on this topic!  

Content personalization is an on‑line marketing feature that can significantly increase the flexibility of a website. It allows you to create pages that display different content depending on the circumstances in which they are viewed. This way, pages can be custom‑built for different types of visitors, dynamically reflect previous actions performed on the website by a given user or have their content determined by any other site variables.


Personalization is applied through the basic components that form the content of pages, which includes Web parts, entire web part zones and Widgets added into page editor zones. The first necessary step is to define different versions of these objects called variants. The details of how personalization variants can be created and configured for objects are described in Managing personalization variants.




Each variant is dedicated to a particular scenario, which is specified through a macro‑based condition. The condition determines in which situations the variant should be displayed. When a visitor selects the page on the live site, the variants of all personalized objects will have their conditions dynamically resolved according to the current context and the appropriate variant will be displayed for each object. Please see the Variant conditions topic to learn more about possible condition options and how they are processed.


Enabling content personalization


To start using content personalization on a website, go to Site Manager -> Settings -> On‑line marketing and check Enable content personalization. This will allow users with the appropriate permissions to start creating variants of objects, which will then be processed and displayed accordingly on the live site.




If you disable content personalization at a later time, existing variants on your website will not be deleted, but it will not be possible to manage them or define new ones, and the original objects will always be shown on the live site.